Skip to content

Hide your browsing history

Be safe - hide your browsing

Don't leave online traces. Netscape Navigator, Internet Explorer, and other internet browsers keep a history, or list, of the web sites you visit.

If you are worried about someone at home discovering that you visited this website, you can take steps to avoid leaving traces:

Use a friend's computer, library or public computer to search the internet in the future.

Try removing the traces yourself - the links below give instructions. But remember: you will be erasing all history of the websites visited by you or anyone else who uses the computer.
And You must repeat the process each time you visit a site.

If you are not sure what type of browser you use. This is how you find out.

Most people have Netscape, Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, or AOL.

Click on the Help button at the top of your screen and selecting the last menu option. This should provide information about your browser, including the version number.

How to hide your browsing

Prevent others from seeing what sites you have been on.

The 'cache' and history files on your computer show what sites you have recently visited. You can empty your cache and clear your history files after each time you have used your computer.

But you should very cautious about clearing all your cache and history files. If your abuser is comfortable with computers, and sees that you have cleared all the cache and history files on your computer, they might get angry or suspicious. If that is a possibility, it would be better for you to use a computer they cannot have access to - for example, at a library, a friend's house, or at work.

Another option you have is to delete only specific sites from your cache and history files. If you are comfortable with computers, you may want to do this. Your browser will have instructions about how to delete specific files from you cache and history.

PC: Internet Explorer

To clear cache files:

* Click on Tools on the toolbar at the top of the screen.
* Select Internet Options.
* On General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Files. If asked, check the box to delete all offline content.

To clear history files:

* Still within the Temporary Internet Files section, click on Settings.
* Click on View Files. Manually highlight all the files shown, then hit Delete. Close that window.
* Still on the General page, under the History section, click on Clear History.

PC: Netscape

To clear cache files:

* Click on Edit on the tool bar at the top of the screen
* Select Preferences
* Click Advanced
* Click Cache
* Click the Clear Memory Cache button
* Click the Clear Disk Cache button
* Click OK

PC: AOL

To clear cache files:

* Click the My AOL icon on the toolbar
* Select Preferences
* Click the WWW button
* From the pop-up menu, click Delete Files in the Temporary Internet Files section

To clear history files:

* In the History section of the same pop-up menu as above, click Clear History.

Mac: Internet Explorer

To clear cache files:

* From the Edit menu at the top of the screen, click on Preferences
* Under the Web Browser section, click on Advanced
* In the Cache area click on Empty Now
* Click on OK to confirm the changes made.

To clear history files:

* Click on Advanced within the web browser list as above
* The first option is History. Here you can change the number of sites that are remembered by the history. Change the number to 0. Click the button that says Clear History
* Below the history box is a section for your browser's cache. Within that section, click the Empty Now button.

Mac: Netscape

To clear cache files:

* Click on the Edit menu
* Click on Preferences under the Advanced section and select Cache.
* Click on Clear Disk Cache Now (Netscape 6.2 users click on both Clear Memory Cache and Clear Disk Cache).
* Click on OK to confirm the changes made.

To clear history files:

* Click the Navigator heading in the expandable list on the left side of the Preferences window
* Click on History and click the Expire Now button. This returns all visited link colors to "un-visited"